Days Of Yore

Posted: July 13, 2011 in Experience, Toastmasters
Tags: , ,

The bell rang. I could hear the students chanting their evening prayer followed by a chorus “Thank you mam”. It was 4:00 pm in the evening. Motley of uniformed students came out rushing towards their waiting parents, auto rickshaws and cycles. Few others decided to quench their sporting pursuits by choosing to play carom, chess, volley ball, cricket and badminton. I was also one among those uniformed students just few years ago.

My friends and I were waiting outside my school looking at the giant building which was our second home not long ago. The agenda to come to school was straight forward. Teachers! We wanted to meet our teachers. We all missed our teachers in some way or the other and it all amalgamated towards fulfillment on 20th June 2005.

First up was the Principal. She was always busy especially after the school ends for the day. Nothing changed even when we went to meet her that day. We were waiting to meet our Principal. As we were waiting, the memories of the days I enjoyed unmindful of the competitive world outside engulfed me.

The same small ground just in front of the Principal room had been a witness to many a number of quarrels, chit-chats, and even mindless cupid wars. That ground has seen me from shedding blood to crowning glory. Except for the students who were playing on it today, the ground simply remained the same.

After few minutes, we entered our Principal‘s room and I was surprised when she recognized us easily and even called few of us by our names. The lady whom we feared a little won our hearts that day. Heartwarming indeed!

After we met the Principal, we immediately rushed to meet our teachers as we did not want to miss anyone. The reactions from my teachers ranged from surprise to sheer joy in meeting us. The conversations were a mixture of what we are doing, what we want to do in future and predominantly how life has been since school. The fun part was really when few of my teachers managed to recollect the pranks we played during our heydays. I personally felt the warmth and tinge of happiness in every word spoken, in every pleasantry exchanged and in every quip cracked. Mobile numbers were exchanged and promises to keep visiting school once in a while were taken.

Finally, my friends and I went to our 12th standard classroom and spent a few quiet moments within ourselves.

It was a satiating day – both mentally and emotionally. I bid goodbyes to my friends and started for home. Along the way, I felt nothing seemed to have changed with my school. The sanctity of my temple of learning was intact and most importantly my teachers were simply the same – ever encouraging and always caring. As I recollect my life’s precious moments, those 90 minutes I spent in my school will remain as one of those moments that I will cherish forever.

(This article was written for Wordsmiths Toastmasters Club’s 150th meeting newsletter on the theme “Life’s Precious Moments)

Comments
  1. Als says:

    My school is very close to home.. and most of the teachers too stay in the same neighborhood. So when they come anywhere in sight within 100 meters (at the church, on the street…), I just go the other way. Never have I got to like my teachers very much. But now I understand how beautifully, wonderful teachers are! Recently met my 8th std Maths teacher.. The very tall, lean teacher back then just seemed the normal height to me, now 🙂 and to see her with her all smiling and with two boys was elevated my day altogether. Oh man! She still has that innocent grin on her face (she would give way to a big, wide smile even after she had scolded someone in class, melting away all the unpleasantness immediately)!

    Lovely post Krish! Though I’m not sure if I’d want to meet my school principal of all teachers… 😉

  2. krishnan says:

    Personally, school days were those wonderful days and the irony is I am able to realize the complete value of what my school gave me only after moving out of school… Life’s ways!!!

    Cherish such moments Alphi when you get an opportunity to meet those lovely teachers because you realize it or not, every teacher would have left something in each one of us that has helped us to be what we are today… 🙂

    Thanks for sharing your experience here.. felt happy reading it!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

